Fire

Discuss anything not covered by any of the other categories.
ajay

Fire

Post by ajay »

Is this possible to do in a quake engine? (The fire on the left)
goldenboy

Re: Fire

Post by goldenboy »

Yes. You can use animated sprites, a Q3A shader with animMap, and I guess also particles. Is it easy? Depends how good you are at Gimp/Photoshop and to what lengths you go technically.

deformVertexes autosprite1 / autosprite2 will make the shader face the player (2 should make it rotate around its longest axis only). I'm not sure which engines all support this stuff though. I know FTE supports autosprite1, autosprite2 is supported in its code but was broken last time I saw (I'm doing animated fire as well).

autosprite 2 is also used for stuff like stationary laserbeams etc (think Doom 3 type stuff).

FTE's particle system should also be able to spawn fire sprites and make them move around. Not sure about DP since I have no experience with DP particles.
Nahuel

Post by Nahuel »

i get some nice particleffects for fire in darkplaces using particlefont
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1r2AJI_mzgo
hi, I am nahuel, I love quake and qc.
Spike

Post by Spike »

EF_ADDITIVE + sprites, or some fancy model with a skingroup, will work with either fte or dp, and would be at least be a feasable addition to other engines (though needs extended .effect networking). kinda assumes replacement textures.
can chuck some shaders in there too if needed, but tbh you should be able to do it with just skingroups.

if you want to directly embed them in a bsp, then shaders+autosprites+q3bsp help... or you could use q1bsp with func_illusionary, ef_additive, some weird texture animation, and skip textures.
Spiney

Post by Spiney »