Darkplaces on ubuntu?

Discuss anything not covered by any of the other categories.
ceriux

Darkplaces on ubuntu?

Post by ceriux »

hey, i need some help getting darkplaces to run properly. i have my darkplaces folder (i put it in documents) put my id1 folder with in it just like i would on windows. however it doesn't seem to be able to find it or something? it says try setting -basedir blah blah...

i'm new to linux can anyone help?
Ghost_Fang

Re: Darkplaces on ubuntu?

Post by Ghost_Fang »

im not familiar with linux, but the id1 folder is in the same directory has darkplaces.exe right?

if so, maybe the linux darkplaces requires the specific path of "c:/quake/id1"?

Or have you forgotten the gfx.wad?

And last make sure you dont have pakexplorer viewing the .pak file at the same time, you get a sharing violation or something like that and I have had that issue before with windows darkpalces not loading.

I'm not sure what else could be wrong.

Code: Select all

return futile attempt to help;
:P
Baker

Post by Baker »

Did you make your pak0.pak and pak1.pak files lowercase?

As a rule of thumb, if an operating system isn't Windows it is likely to be case sensitive. Also remember that paths need to be using "/" on Linux (and practically everything non-Windows).

/Make sure your id1 folder is lowercase too, even though that is usually already the case.
Ghost_Fang wrote:im not familiar with linux, but the id1 folder is in the same directory has darkplaces.exe right?
Well, on Linux you are not going to be running an .exe. An .exe is what Windows uses.
The night is young. How else can I annoy the world before sunsrise? 8) Inquisitive minds want to know ! And if they don't -- well like that ever has stopped me before ..
Baker

Post by Baker »

Ghost_Fang wrote:im not familiar with linux ...